New Zealand Trade Agreement With Australia

Although the ERC is constantly reviewed and developed by the New Zealand and Australian authorities, this is the first review by the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade. The Committee has an interest in reviewing Australia`s free trade agreements after reviewing codecision with Singapore, Thailand and the United States in 2005 (2). Information on the rules of origin and the use of this agreement can be found in The Thailand Closer Economic Partnership Agreement (PDF 262 KB). More information about Thailand CEP can also be found on the MFAT website. For most products, it is not necessary for products originating in NZ under this agreement to be accompanied by a certificate of origin issued by a certification body. The ERC was born out of a previous free trade agreement that came into force in 1966 and the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement of 1973, which allowed citizens of Australia and New Zealand to travel, live and work in the other country2. AANZFTA came into force in 2010 for Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Myanmar, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam and came into force in 2011 for Laos and Cambodia and in 2012 for Indonesia. Find out how our other free trade agreements compare with ASEAN members. The Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement (P4) is an agreement between Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Singapore and NZ. The P4 agreement, which represents “Pacific 4,” came into force in 2006. Under P4, most tariffs on goods traded between Member States were immediately abolished, with the remaining tariffs expiring (until 2015 for Brunei Darussalam and 2017 for Chile). For more information on rules of origin and agreement, visit Fact Sheet 8 (PDF 701 KB).

For other questions about free trade agreements, – we will endeavour to respond to emails within 48 hours. Austrade has detailed information on activities in New Zealand and in ASEAN countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.